Traxsource Presents New Music Tuesday, March 25th, 2014

We kick off the proceedings with the #1 selection. Franc Spangler aka Jimpster delivering the quality warm, deep house beats on the Painted Lady EP release. Definitely deserves it’s place at the top.

Whats Hot This Week

1. Franc Spangler – Painted Lady EP (Delusions Of Grandeur)

Franc Spangler is back with three brand new cuts to form the Painted Lady EP. Spangler, also known as Jamie Odell also known as Jimpster returns to Delusions Of Grandeur following something of a hiatus since his 2010 EP Forever And A Day. Not that there hasn’t been demand (following his brilliant remix of Norm De Plume for vinyl only label Kolour Limited) but with a busy gig schedule and two labels to keep on top of, the Spangler moniker has always been seen as a bit of a special side project where quality presides over quantity. Title track Painted Lady kicks things off in fine style with warm, deep house being the order of the day. Franc gets just enough dust in amongst the layering keyboards and echoing stabs to keep things the right side of smooth, the overall vibe is rolling with subtle FX and sounds poking through every now and then bringing a new element to latch onto. Up next we have Lumpsucker, which brings us a lovely, blissed out, slice of electronica underpinned by classic TR707 beats adding just the right amount of jack to the track. We’re getting hints of YMO and Balil with a lingering note of Larry Heard on the finish. Finally, we’re treated to the epic closer that is Camberwell Beauty. Mid tempo boogie beats with crunchy claps and steady hats lay the bedrock for a loping CS5 bassline whilst lush keys shimmer and swirl like little fluffy clouds in a bright summer’s sky.

2. Soulmagic – I Wonder (Soulmagic)

The highly anticipated follow-up to smash hit “Someone Like You” that stayed 6 weeks on the Traxsource no 1. Get ready for this monster from the Danes!

3. Matthew Bandy, Diane Charlemagne – Pieces Of My Dreams (Limestone Recordings)

4. Detroit Swindle – Boxed Out (Dirt Crew Recordings)

The Debut Album by Detroit Swindle. It has everything you would expect from the Swindles, some slow burners with a hint of disco, some deep house, some banging club monsters and hey, even some leftfield hip hop jams.

5. Various Artists – Remixed. Volume One. (connect:d)

Scott has ploughed a wide and all encompassing path during his 10 years as a DJ and producer, playing and producing right across the spectrum of house. His influences range from disco, funk and underground jackin grooves right through to deep house, basslines and mid-90’s US & UK garage, taking in all that’s great about modern house music. His reputation as a standout artist is one of the fastest growing in the industry.

For part one of ‘Remixed’, we’ve enlisted 5 producers to put their twist on selected Scott Diaz tracks from the CONNECT:D back catalogue. The result is a varied selection of vibes and interpretations from Hardsoul, Golf Clap, Booker T, Marcus Jakes, Seb Skalski and Masta P.

If you are feeling the vibes please consider including in your charts, radio shows and club sets.

6. The SyntheTigers, Tobirus Mozelle – Just Let Go (Free Fall Into Me) (Moulton Music)

7. Thomaz Krauze, Dropboxx, Stee Downes – Prove It to Me (Skint Records)

Thomas Krauze & Dropboxx join arms for a release on Skint that, if wasn’t already highlighted throughout previous releases on label peers such as Lo Kik, OFF and more, stresses the duo’s competence in the production field entirely.

Opening with a catchy riff featuring a touch of latino, the production quickly swells into a deep and luxurious record with the vocal accompaniment of equally well-regarded Stee Downes rounding it off as a quintessential club vocal.

No stranger to the Skint roster, Paolo Mojo is welcomed on remix duty and recruits a choppy edit that packs a momentous punch for big room compatibility.

8. Kenny Summit – Give Me Body (Good For You Records)

More massive love straight for the dance floor from Kenny Summit. Dust off your space suite out and get ready for a journey through the galaxy.

9. Oliver $, Jimi Jules – Pushing On (Defected)

Following the success of their ‘Earl’ EP on Switzerland’s Hive Records, Berlin-based House staple Oliver $ reunites with Swiss Jazz House aficionado Jimi Jules to bring their anticipated debut release on Defected. ‘Pushing On’ opens with an infectious percussive medley composed of tropical triangles and melodious 808-like cowbells. With the gradual introduction of the moody, Frankie Knuckles inspired, bass line and tailing piano chords, the track slowly transforms into an energetic homage to classic Chicago House. Quick to take centre stage the track also features dusky vocal samples from Quantic Soul Orchestra, merging effortlessly with the wispy cymbal crashes, the song’s title and central lyrical theme, “Pushing On”, falls and confidently rises to drive the track to its spirited climax. And for those who don’t want the vocals there’s a dub thrown in for good measure. Already household names in their home countries, ‘Pushing On’ is sure set to solidify Oliver $ and Jimi Jules as international House providers.

10. MKTL – Wild Kingdom (gotsoul)

The upcoming single on Gotsoul Records stays true to MKTL’s distinctive sound that has seduced countless dance floors around the world. The deeply rooted indigenous percussions with textured elements and rhythmic chants will transport you inwards to the very core of your spirit. A soulful four to the floor beat to electrify the body and rejuvenate the mind. Jamsteady & Boddhi Satva on remix duty.

11. Gene Farris – Jackin EP (Farris Wheel Recordings)

12. Simian Mobile Disco & Roman Flugel – Hachinoko (Delicacies)